RSS Feed

Umm… What!?

Honestly, this type of tearing down other churches needs to stop. I ran across this article today: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/thabitianyabwile/2011/09/27/multi-site-churches-are-from-the-devil/

Really? How on earth a person gets to these conclusions is ridiculous. Mostly based on assumption and fear, this writer decided that multi-site churches are of the devil. I’m truly baffled.

I am a member and student pastor at a church who recently went to being multi site. This was not the ambition of the staff or the plan. This was merely walking through doors God had opened to reach people no one was reaching.

I take exception to the writer’s unfounded claims and beg people to get to know others’ hearts and motivations before passing judgement. Please.

About craigstutzman

I am a married man with a son, a daughter, and one on the way. My wife's name is Leah, my son's name is Caleb, and my daughter's name is Claire. I love music, media, and ministry. Comment and share if you so desire. Thanks for reading.

4 responses »

  1. Where is the proof God opened the doors? That sounds like a big assumption. The “devil” comment was a tongue-in-cheek comment directed at James MacDonald explained in the introduction of the post (though I think using it made his post seem “extreme”).

    I just left a church that had “God open the multi-site doors” during my last few years there. I’m not saying God didn’t provide things, but I think a local pastor preaching over the celebrity video in would have been better. Or at least hop campuses like Keller (which was originally the plan, but never happened).

    I witnessed or participated in almost all of his points.

    Reply
  2. i think you are completely misrepresenting this article by a man who wrote this out of love, not judgment. He is friends with many multi-site pastors and got “of the devil” from what McDonald said about congregationalism. If you read his post (Even skimmed it), you would know that he does not truly think any of those men are “of the devil,” it was a joke to McDonald. Seems to me that you are doing exactly what you accused him of.

    Reply
  3. Hey, was just browsing and wanted to say there was some context to the title of this blog post by Thabiti that you would miss if you didn’t look below the surface – it caught my attention to.

    See the post from Stephanie on Sept. 28th @ 10:41am and Thabiti’s follow up. Stephanie didn’t like the terms either.

    Reply
  4. I appreciate each of your comments. I was simply stating my opinion and I did read the article thoroughly….even the comment section. It still seemed to me that he was choosing to tear apart the Church without really understanding. I am not saying this man is ungodly…but I do feel he didn’t give multi-site churches a fair shake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

